January 28-30, 2018

The Edition Hotel, Miami Beach, FL


 3:00 – 5:00 pm                        Board of Directors Meeting

 6:00 pm                                   Kick-off Reception and Dinner

KEYNOTE SPEAKER: Pete Ricketts, Governor of Nebraska

Guest Moderator: Trent Loos


7:30 – 8:30 am                        Breakfast (please join us in the ballroom at your leisure)

8:30 – 9:30                              AGRICULTURE FOCUS

  • Curtis Jones, Global Director of Economic Analysis, Bunge Global Agribusiness
  • David Hightower, Founding Principal, The Hightower Report
  • Moderator: Chris Nikkel, VP, Risk Management Oilseeds, Bunge North America

 9:30 – 10:15                            CFTC CHAIRMAN’S KEYNOTE

  • Christopher Giancarlo, Chairman, Commodity Futures Trading Commission

10:15 – 10:45                        Networking Break 

 10:45 – 11:45                          FERC CHAIRMAN’S KEYNOTE

  • Neil Chatterjee, Chairman, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

 12:00 – 1:30 pm                     LUNCH – POLITICAL FOCUS

  • Wayne Valis, President & Founder, Valis & Associates

 1:45 – 2:15 pm                        TRADE FOCUS

  • Secretary Perdue (Invited) – Gregg Doud

 2:15 – 2:45 pm                        METALS FOCUS

  • Paul Wilkes, Concord Resources Limited
  • Derek Sammann, Senior Managing Director, Global Head of Commodities & Options Products, CME

 2:45 – 3:45 pm                        EUROPEAN FOCUS

  • Chris Borg, Co-Chair of Financial Markets & Regulatory Group, Reed Smith, London
  • Robert Condon, Managing Director, Hume Brophy, London
  • Paul Willis, Technical Specialist – Commodities, Financial Conduct Authority, UK
  • Moderator: Tom Erickson, Cargill

 5:30 pm                                   Networking Reception

7:00 pm                                   Dinner at Leisure and Sponsored Dinners


 7:30 – 8:30 am                        Breakfast

 8:30 – 9:15                              ENERGY FOCUS

  • Clive Christison, CEO, Global Oil, BP Products North America

9:15 – 10:15                            TECHNOLOGY FOCUS

  • Matt Rocsak, Co-Founder & Vice Chairman, Bloq
  • Mark Pryor, CEO, The Seam
  • Moderator: Kevin Batteh, General Counsel, CMC

 10:15 – 10:45                          Networking Break

 10:45 – 11:45                          LEADERSHIP FOCUS

  • Adrian Isman, Senior Head, Grains & Value Chain Platforms, Head, North American Region, and Chairman of the Board, Calyx Agro Ltd. – Louis Dreyfus Company
  • Dhamu Thamodaran, EVP, Chief Strategy Officer, and Chief Commodity Hedging Officer, Smithfield
  • Moderator: Charlie Carey, Chairman of the Board, CMC

 11:45 – 12:45 pm                   REGULATORY FOCUS

  • Tom Sexton, President & CEO, National Futures Association
  • Jim Newsome, CMC President, Former CFTC Chairman & Founding Partner, Delta Strategy Group
  • Amir Zaidi, Director, Division of Market Oversight, CFTC
  • Pat McCormick, Special Counsel, Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee
  • Paul Balzano, Professional Staff, House Agriculture Committee
  • Moderator: Jill Sommers, Former CFTC Commissioner


1:00pm Lunch



Governor Pete Ricketts

Governor Ricketts

Governor Pete Ricketts was sworn in as Nebraska’s 40th Governor on January 8, 2015.

Governor Ricketts was first elected to office upon winning the Nebraska gubernatorial election on November 4, 2014. Prior to his election as governor, he worked to support Nebraska entrepreneurs and startup companies.

Born in Nebraska City and raised in Omaha, Ricketts is the son of an entrepreneur and a public school teacher. Governor Ricketts and his wife, First Lady Susanne Shore, have been married for 20 years and live in Omaha with their three children, Roscoe, Margot and Eleanor.